Friday, June 5, 2009

Yo La Tango prepping new album

Long standing indie-rock trio, Yo La Tango are returning on Sept. 8 with a brand new disc, Popular Songs via Matador Records. The forthcoming effort follows up 2006's 'I'm Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass' and also the alter ego side release, The Condo Fucks, 'Fuckbook'.
Here's part of the press release from Matador ..."The new Yo La Tengo album ‘Popular Songs” could be the bravest musical statement to date in a career full of ‘em. Recorded in Hoboken and Nashville in early 2009 with longtime associate Roger Mountenot, ‘Popular Songs’ finds the trio of Georgia Hubley, Ira Kaplan and James McNew at the height of their creative powers, fashioning an epic work that’s cooly confident as it is wildly adventurous.

You can listen to the new track, 'Periodically Double or Triple" over on the Matador site here.

From 2003's Summer Sun:

Little Eyes - Yo La Tengo

No comments: