Friday, August 14, 2009

Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar team up on Kerouac documentary and album

Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie and Jay Farrar of Son Volt have teamed up on the new Jack Kerouac documentary and album, One Fast Move or I’m Gone: Kerouac’s Big Sur, featuring 12 original songs written and performed by the pair. Gibbard and Farrar, who never previously met, discovered a mutual passion for Kerouac’s work while recording several songs for the documentary, and after an initial recording session in San Francisco in 2007, they decided to develop the project further to create an album using Kerouac’s own words from the book as the lyrics. The novel, Big Sur recounts a time in Kerouac's life when he’d “come undone,” emotionally and spiritually, and he escapes to a cabin in Big Sur to confront his inner demons and find peace by the sea. The album is set for an October 20th release on F-Stop/Atlantic Records

watch the trailer below:

One Fast Move or I’m Gone track listing:
1. California Zephyr
2. Low Life Kingdom
3. Willamine
4. All In One
5. Breathe Our Iodine
6. These Roads Don’t Move
7. Big Sur
8. One Fast Move Or I¹m Gone
9. Final Horrors
10. Sea Engines
11. The Void
12. San Francisco

No comments: