Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Sigur Ros- new album details revealed

Sigur Ros posted new album news on their website... according to a statement released by the band, they will be releasing their fifth album, Með suð i eyrum við spilum endalaust, which translates in english to (with a buzz in our ear we play endlessly), on June 24th, 2008 on XL Recordings.
The first track from the album, entitled “Gobbledigook,” will be unveiled on England’s Radio 1 tonight (May 27th), and then the track will be available worldwide for a free download via www.sigurros.com. A pre-sale for the album will begin on www.sigurros.com and iTunes on June 2nd, as well as a special deluxe edition of the album to be released later in the year that will feature a “Making Of…” book, a film and more that will be available to pre-order on the band’s website that same day.

The new album, With a buzz… was co-produced with the band by well known producer Flood, and was recorded in such locales as New York City, London, and Havana, Cuba and is the first album that the band has recorded outside of Iceland. The new album also has another first for the group, which features vocalist Jon “Jonsi” Thor Birgisson’s vocals in English for the first time on one track (the remainder are sung in Icelandic).
The material for the album was written, recorded and mixed entirely in 2008 and is being released just one month after its completion.

The tracklisting for Með suð i eyrum við spilum endalaust (with a buzz in our ear we play endlessly):

1. Gobbledigook
2. Inní mér syngur vitleysingur (Within me a lunatic sings)
3. Góðan daginn (Good day)
4. Við spilum endalaust (We play endlessly)
5. Festival
6. Suð í eyrum (Buzz in our ears)
7. Ára bátur (Row boat)
8. Íllgresi (Weeds)
9. Fljótavík (A place in Iceland)
10. Straumnes (A mountain near Fljótavík)
11. All Alright

No comments: