Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Indie rock all-star line-up revealed for 'Dark Was The Night' compilation

With yesterday being World Aids Day, the line-up was revealed for the jam packed Dark Was the Night , the compilation release benefiting AIDS/HIV awareness group, The Red Hot Organization. The effort was produced by Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National, and will feature 32 exclusive new tracks from some of indie rocks biggest names. Not all the tracklisting has been unveiled, but some details that have already leaked are: David Byrne teaming up with the Dirty Projectors, Feist joining both Grizzly Bear and Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard, Conor Oberst performing with Gillian Welch, José González doing a cover of Nick Drake's "Cello Song", My Brightest Diamond singing "Feeling Good", as well as The National contributing a track of their own, and Bon Iver and Aaron Dessner teaming up for another.
The compilation will be made available on on double CD, triple LP, or digital download on February 17th from 4AD.

Dark Was The Night full line-up:

Andrew Bird
Antony + Bryce Dessner
Arcade Fire
Beach House
Blonde Redhead + Devastations
Bon Iver
Bon Iver & Aaron Dessner
The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues
The Decemberists
Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
Kevin Drew
Feist + Ben Gibbard
Grizzly Bear
Grizzly Bear + Feist
Iron & Wine
Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
Kronos Quartet
Stuart Murdoch
My Brightest Diamond
My Morning Jacket
The National
The New Pornographers
Conor Oberst & Gillian Welch
Riceboy Sleeps
Dave Sitek
Sufjan Stevens
Yo La Tengo

No comments: